Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New Hämmerli X-Esse IPSC

+2
davidbullseye
Ray Dash
6 posters

Go down

New Hämmerli X-Esse IPSC Empty New Hämmerli X-Esse IPSC

Post by Ray Dash Wed Feb 06, 2019 7:43 pm

I picked up my new X-esse yesterday and headed to the range with it using the iron sights. First impressions were that the pistol is very light compared to the Ruger Mark IV that I am currently shooting in my league with a Ultradot on it. The stock grips feel ok but I really hated the trigger and I shot all over the place. To be fair I am very new to Bullseye shooting and never shot with iron sights in the league so I had a lot to get used to. I tried a few different brands of ammo but they all seemed to shoot the same. Feeling that maybe I was having a off day I pulled out my Ruger and shot 5 shots in the black and decided to go home. Today I took the pistol apart and took a good look at the trigger to figure out how it works and adjusts. After some playing around and dry firing I had the trigger perfectly the way I like it. 

Today I took it back the the range and after a few sight in shots and rear sight adjustment I shot the tightest group I have ever shot using Aguila pistol match competition. I normally don't shoot this ammo because it seems to be very picky and dirty. I have also had it fail to feed and even sound like one or two rounds had a double powder charge. I could definitely see that the x-esse preferred the Aguila over the CCI Standard velocity and the federal I tried. My real concern now is will it cause an alibi during a match? 

So after a little bit of a nervous start the X-esse seems like it is going to be a very accurate shooter. Now I have to decide if I am going to like a Ultradot on it or not. I am thinking I may shoot a bit better with the red dot and if that is the case the rest of the season should be fun.
Ray Dash
Ray Dash

Back to top Go down