Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Sorting 22 with a rim guage

+2
Dave C.
Sa-tevp
6 posters

Go down

Sorting 22 with a rim guage Empty Sorting 22 with a rim guage

Post by Sa-tevp 12/7/2014, 11:12 am

I had asked a question in another thread, and thought it would be best to start a new thread on the topic. A recent indoor 900 using 22 had me scratching my head over where some of my bullets were going. About two months ago I had started using paper box CCI SV instead of RWS Rifle Target or Eley Target in my Hammerli X-esse for practice and indoor 25 yard competition, and some of the shots seemed odd. Since I only started shooting in 2012 and competing in 2013, CCI was hard to find for a while.

In the interest of figuring out what was going on, I sorted out about two bricks of CCI SV by checking rim thickness. I also measured the rim reliefs in the bolt of my Ruger Mark III (0.045") and the slide of the Hammerli X-esse (0.040").

Here's the breakdown on CCI SV rim thickness:

9 between 0.045" - 0.046"
145 between 0.043" - 0.044"
584 between 0.042" - 0.043"
314 between 0.041" - 0.042"
3 between 0.040" - 0.041"

50 round boxes of Eley Club, Eley Target and RWS Rifle Target measured at 0.039" to 0.040" with much better rim thickness consistency, with most being at 0.039".

While this rainy Saturday afternoon check was tedious, since I plunk check my 45 ammo before competition I like making sure my 22 will at least feed reliably too. It gave me a chance to knock the bigger wax chunks off too. It's not likely I'll be able to do any range testing before the next 900 and realize the best test would be to shoot for groups in a rest or off a sandbag.