Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

RF Recovery Drills

+6
Jon Eulette
john bickar
AllAces
joem5636
Ed Hall
DonBrummer
10 posters

Go down

RF Recovery Drills  Empty RF Recovery Drills

Post by DonBrummer 3/8/2015, 11:48 pm

I recently started training & practicing with a .45 and I’m having a difficult time with rapid fire and looking for some guidance.  I do dry fire and natural point of aim drills on a regular basic.   If I stay focused on my shot process I can usually get off 3 or 4 good shots in the 10 seconds, never 5.  In order to get off all 5 shots I need to do stupid things that I know are wrong, like rushing the shot while the dot is crossing the X.   The obvious conclusion is that I’m spending too much time recovering from the previous shot. What advice can you offer?
DonBrummer
DonBrummer

Back to top Go down

RF Recovery Drills  Empty Re: RF Recovery Drills

Post by Ed Hall 3/9/2015, 10:43 am

First let me say that you are approaching this correctly, understanding that you should work forward in the manner you are; learning to fire less good shots.  Good approach!

The gun should fire when the sighting system is aligned and re-enters the black.  In order to accomplish this, you need to start the trigger before you reach the black.  This is a leap of faith.

Working with the first shot, learn to break it cleanly as soon as you can at the turn.  Next, learn how to start the trigger while still in recoil recovery, such that the gun fires when you are coming into the bull.  Some describe this as, "keeping the trigger moving."

Ed Hall

http://www.starreloaders.com/edhall/

Back to top Go down

Post by joem5636 3/9/2015, 11:26 am

One thing I find important is to keep your eye(s) on the target and bring the gun up to where you are looking. Trying to acquire the gun first is useless.

joem5636

Back to top Go down

Post by DonBrummer 3/10/2015, 10:11 pm

Ed