Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Toledo Adams range

+2
john bickar
james r chapman
6 posters

Go down

Toledo Adams range Empty Toledo Adams range

Post by james r chapman 7/2/2024, 7:15 pm

Whatever happened to the Toledo Adams bullseye matches???
james r chapman
james r chapman
Admin

Back to top Go down

Toledo Adams range Empty Re: Toledo Adams range

Post by john bickar 7/2/2024, 8:04 pm

Habegger might know. He used to live up there and shoot those matches. 

I know they had matches there in the 1980s (my dad set a National Record there in 1982, 300-19x .22NMC, Civilian, since eclipsed), but by the time I started shooting in 1990 I don't think they were having matches there anymore.
john bickar
john bickar

Back to top Go down

Post by Colt711 7/2/2024, 8:29 pm

Jim,
I just talked to Jack Taylor a couple of days ago. It seems there is nearly no interest, just some limited practice. He and Jack Grogan were the shooters who started matches there (Adams) in 1971 or 72. I shot in that 1st match, also my first outdoor. There was great participaton and improvements every year.  Jack explains the range was patterned after Bristol's Wa-Ka-De. He said the range has been updated and looks better than ever. A shame!

He related the range is also used by a group of smallbore shooters of which he is a part. In his 90's, he won the 1st SB match he shot in!

Jack Taylor is old school. He ran indoor matches in SW Mich, helped develop the range and ran matches @ Adams, in FL he started a senior BE group @ the WY Antelope Club. He was always ready to help and encourage new shooters. Jim Leonardson was one of those at something like age 15 or 16!

Jim Ciak, I have no address or tel. ran the last matches, 1 a yr, and might be a contact.

Ron Habegger

Colt711

Back to top Go down

Post by Colt711 7/2/2024, 8:34 pm

John,