Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What primers do you use?

+16
orpheoet
jglenn21
xmastershooter
LenV
Magload
JayhawkNavy02
mspingeld
weber1b
BE Mike
cdrt
desben
Jon Eulette
troystaten
mpolans
Tim:H11
zanemoseley
20 posters

Go down

What primers do you use? Empty What primers do you use?

Post by zanemoseley Tue Jun 27, 2017 11:19 pm

I've been using CCI for a few years, mainly because that's what is easy to get locally. I was talking to a old time revolver smith tonight and he basically said that CCI primers are crap and anyone that uses them for matches doesn't know what they're doing, I didn't tell him I used CCI as I didn't feel like getting into a pissing match over something stupid. Perhaps on lightned DA revolver triggers that are sensitive to misfires it matters more but I haven't had any issues using CCI primers with 1911's.

So what primers are you guys using? Making sure I'm not the only noob using CCI's.

zanemoseley

Back to top Go down

What primers do you use? Empty Re: What primers do you use?

Post by Tim:H11 Tue Jun 27, 2017 11:28 pm

I started using CCI in a 45. I had no issues. I've been using Winchester for some time now but that's because I fell into a large amount of them some time ago and haven't gotten to the end of them. Small pistol and large pistol primers. So I use them in the 45 and 38 Special. No issues. From my hand I can not tell a difference in accuracy. Reliable... not sure. Haven't had issues.

Back to top Go down

Post by mpolans Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:15 am

Federals when I can get them.  Winchesters when I can't get Federals.  I never use CCIs.

mpolans

Back to top Go down

Post by troystaten Wed Jun 28, 2017 1:39 am

Have used many thousands of CCI's over a 30 year period, never had a problem, have used Win, Rem and S&B also no problems.  Not so much as a misfire.  Now maybe I can blame my flyers on the primers;)

troystaten

Back to top Go down