Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Help Me Decide on a .45

+13
LenV
Rob Kovach
Jon Eulette
KevinB
Otiso
CR10X
Magnusbullets
Jerry Keefer
Dr.Don
DavidR
Froneck
mspingeld
Barry Wilson
17 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Help Me Decide on a .45 Empty Help Me Decide on a .45

Post by Barry Wilson Fri Feb 27, 2015 12:06 pm

Greetings. I am new to bullseye shooting...just went to my first competition last Saturday. Right now I'm only shooting in the .22 round because that's all I have. (It's a brand new Browning Buckmark Hunter 7.25.).  My next step is to get a .45.  From everything I've read...and from the advice I got from the fabulous shooter next to me at the competition, there's no such thing as an off-the-shelf .45 that is ready for bullseye.  I've heard they all need to be "accurized". The guy I was talking with went so far as to say it would be better to just go with a custom gun that would be built for bullseye.  Here are my questions:

1. Is it true that there are no ready-for-competition .45s on the market. (After reading another topic in this forum about the Colt Gold Cup I am beginning to believe it.)

2. What does "accurize" mean?

3. Are there any custom builders near me who build bullseye guns?  I live on a dirt road in the hinterlands of South Carolina. The cities nearest me are Anderson and Greenville. Next closest is Columbia. I'm a couple of hours from Asheville and Charlotte, North Carolina.

Many thanks!
Barry Wilson
Barry Wilson

Back to top Go down

Help Me Decide on a .45 Empty Re: Help Me Decide on a .45

Post by mspingeld Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:11 pm

First: Welcome to the obsession!

Accurize means taking a stock gun and "tweaking it" to make it accurate enough for bullseye. For example, tightening slide to frame fit, installing and fitting a match barrel & bushing, installing/fitting a better ignition system (sear/disconnect/trigger/hammer etc.) and more.