Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Tisas 1911 build

4 posters

Go down

Tisas 1911 build  Empty Tisas 1911 build

Post by Daniel Riggs Sat Jul 06, 2024 10:00 pm

Hello I am just getting started in precision shooting and have extensive experience in action style shooting and bowling pin competition.

I am 32 years old and i work as a machinist and have my own personal machine shop at home.

I am interested in assembling a 1911 45 acp that will not break the bank.

I noticed a online retailer is offering a Tisas service special 1911 for 329.

I had thoughts of adding a bomar style rear and appropriate front sight, attempting to use the internals if not mim castings for a decent trigger job, and check the barrel for accuracy in my barrel tester fixture I recently built. (With a proper fit barrel and bushing do you think a 2 inch group at 50 yard is possible?)

I understand the frame and slide are forged steel, does anyone have experience with any issues involving these frames? 

the only reason i am considering the tisas is to have a functional target pistol under $500

I have never focused on this level of precision before so any suggestions would be appreciated please.

Daniel Riggs

Back to top Go down

Tisas 1911 build  Empty Re: Tisas 1911 build

Post by RoyDean Sun Jul 07, 2024 4:17 am

RRA offer combo ribs with good sights for $135. Just drill/tap. Advantage being the facility to add a red dot later if desired. TISAS frames are decent.

RoyDean

Arthur and Gustavo1957 like this post

Back to top Go down

Post by chiz1180 Sun Jul 07, 2024 6:04 am